top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Take Care Of Yourself!

Ah! I have been M.I.A lately, but the reason behind this is exact whey I'm coming back with this post first!

I'm sure all of you know I've been super busy lately, I talk about it here all the time and constantly post about it on my other social media sites (go check them out... follow me everywhere!) well this super busy life style finally caught up with me and oh boy did I ever learn a very valuable lesson.

You know I watch a lot of Matthew Santoro (he's actually the one who inspired me to start pushing hard toward a more me friendy future!) and he's vlog'ed a lot about remembering to take care of yourself first. Yeah you got to do you, but you also got to do you right.... Did that make any sense?

Regardless, unfortunately I did not take care of myself this week, and my body had something to say about that.

I hardly slept, I stressed about travel times and meetings and events and media, I traveled between towns a lot, and I pumped just the worst food into my body (pizza, M & M's, constant streams of coffee, cookies, croissants, etc) because I felt I didn't have the time to stop and, I don't know, grab a salad, munch an apple, peel back a banana....

And on June 1st at the London Open Mic Poetry Night I suddenly got really ill.

It only started with a headache, but once I asked the Couplets organizer, Andy, to drive me home afterward I collapsed onto the couch and pretty much passed out instantly. Until a phone call from my S.O. brought me back to life.

When I woke up, though, I was very weak, and after I got into his car it only took 10 seconds down the road before I was asking him to pull over so that I could throw up.

I didn't take care of myself and my body was telling me it had had enough. Luckily it only a lasted a night and most of the next morning (I slept until 11AM... I never sleep in after 9AM) because I had to perform on June 2nd evening.

Once I was good enough to stand and venture outside I went to the grocery store, bought a butt load of veg and fruit and a bunch of other good stuff, and mowed down. It made me feel much better, but I could still feel the exhaustion lingering.

I posted a picture of the empty stage, I would be reciting on, on my Instagram but even then I was running off the fuel coffee, and the expectation of the crowd.

If you follow me on Instagram you know my Nerd Block Arcade finally arrive! but I have been soooo sick that I couldn't even do anything about it after the business died down.

I'm alive, though! and feeling much better.

I feel terrible I've made you miss both a WCW and, now, 2 TBT... So that's what I'll be working on today. You get Flashback Friday for both WCW and TBT that I couldn't post for.

But seriously! Take care of yourself, please. If you don't you could really mess yourself up. It's not fun and I strongly believe I got lucky this time. I could have seriously injured my body somehow, and I'm very thankful that that wasn't the case.

bottom of page